Week 10: Fantasy Football Hatred

How could the great game of football bring so much agony? Why is my mental health resting on the performance of the Arizona Cardinals? This is far worse than being a Vikings fan… and I am winning! This week brought forth pain and misery at the RB position (again!)–something I have tried to fill every week since week 2. Most leagues are designed around their good performances, and poor numbers coming from those guys spell losses. I drafted Brian Westbrook, Reggie Bush, and Earnest Graham. All of them have gotten hurt. My flex options was Selvin Young and my waiver pick ups (unbelievably) have been Willis McGahee and Tim Hightower. You would think I would be crushing with those guys wouldn’t you? Well it all depends on injuries, matchups, and who you play on any given Sunday (or Monday), because in the last two weeks my boys have only put out 26 measily points. And as you will see, those four plays don’t even match one of my opponent’s RB’s.

MY OPPONENT:
QB Chad Pennington, Mia @ Sea 21-19 F 10
RB Brandon Jacobs, NYG @ Phi 36-31 F 22
RB Maurice Jones-Drew, Jac @ Det 38-14 F 27
WR Laveranues Coles, NYJ @ StL 47-3 F 1
WR Donald Driver, GB @ Min 27-28 F 4
TE John Carlson, Sea @ Mia 19-21 F 5
D/ST Bears D/ST, Chi @ Ten 14-21 F 3
K Jason Elam, Atl @ NO 34-20 F 10
TOTAL POINTS: 82

Getting above 80 points in our league means you have a good chance of winning. And when you are down 20 before Kurt Warner plays on Monday night you have every reason to sit for three hours at a sports bar sipping ice tea (who can afford anything else?) wincing at every penalty, incompletion, and punt…even though your man is throwing for 328 yards, 3 TDs, and no turnovers! With wildcard Willis McGahee putting huge numbers up on the bench (in my defense, he was injured and was supposed to split the carries three ways), this one should have been lost. But Tony Gonzalez, Roddy White, and the Panthers defense were the bread and butter boys this week. Game ball has to go to Warner, but not without some serious help.

MY TEAM:
QB Kurt Warner, Ari @ SF 29-24 F 25
RB Brian Westbrook, Phi @ NYG 31-36 F 5
RB Tim Hightower, Ari @ SF 29-24 F 4
WR Lee Evans, Buf WR @ NE 10-20 F 2
WR Roddy White, Atl @ NO 34-20 F 12
TE Tony Gonzalez, KC @ SD 19-20 F 23
D/ST Panthers, Car @Oak 17-6 F 18
K Rob Bironas, Ten K @Chi 21-14 F 2
TOTAL POINTS: 91

After yesterday, I have vowed not to follow the scores until Monday morning. Week 11 I take on the 8-2 guy…

3 thoughts on “Week 10: Fantasy Football Hatred

  1. congrats on the win. i was down 20 points going into last night with Gore, Fitzgerald, and the Cardinals D. i won by 4, but it was not without the gnashing of teeth. the INT returned for a TD was going to lock it up for me, but then was called back for offsides. Fitzgerald dropping the 2 pt conversion in the end zone was painful. the 2nd to last play where someone’s hand was called a tackle on Gore…..i’m glad it didn’t come down to that. by then i knew i had eeked out the win, but jeez, it was close!

  2. Oh man, we should have watched this together for support purposes. The Cardinals just killed me with their penalties. Every time I saw the “FLAG” thing go up on the TV I just pounded my fists on the table. The San Fran fans sitting behind me would cheer and I thought about starting a bar fight. :)

Leave a Reply

