McCain and Giuliani Sit on Leno’s Couch, Discuss Vice Presidency

Sen. John McCain teamed up with Rudy Giuliani in a chummy joint appearance on Jay Leno’s “Tonight Show’’ on Thursday and deflected questions about whether he would ever consider asking the former Mayor of New York to accept the vice presidential spot on the Republican ticket. Here is how the conversation went:

LENO: So what are your thoughts on making Rudy your vice president?

MCCAIN: Well let me tell you something about that Jay, when I was serving my country in Vietnam I was entrusted with the responsibility to make tough decisions. That means I am the best man for the job.

LENO: I don’t follow. You are running for president, not vice president. I am wondering about Rudy.

MCCAIN: I am proud to say I was a foot soldier in the Reagan years as one who pushed for lower taxes, an aggressive foreign policy, and hope for America.

LENO: Dammit, I just want you to answer my question!

MCCAIN: I have the experience, the know-how, and the leadership to get things done.

LENO: I give up.

MCCAIN: I put my political career on the line. When no one else supported the surge I supported it.

GIULIANI: What I think John is trying to say is—

MCCAIN: He said “time-tables” and that was the language the Democrats were using at the time demanding a full withdraw for Iraq.

LENO: Who said “time-tables”?

ROMNEY: I did!

LENO: How did you get in here?

ROMNEY: The Senator doesn’t know what he’s talking about. I am the reincarnation of Ronald Reagan. I don’t use Reagan’s name every fourth word in every sentence.

LENO: This is madness!

GIULIANI: I am a lawyer, please talk to me.

MCCAIN: Hey, do you know the difference between a lawyer and a catfish?

LENO: I don’t know.

MCCAIN: One is a scum sucking bottom dweller, the other is a fish.

LENO: So I take that as a “no”—Rudy will not be your running mate.

Leave a Reply

